New rail checker

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Art Lamb, Jan 25, 2001.

  1. Art Lamb

    Art Lamb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    My wife... the better half of the equation told me she has found the best rail checker going. The Kato C44-9W running on the tracks seems to find anything that is wrong. We have found and repaired 3 sections where somehow the rails got pinched just a wee bit.... call it sloppy work, or what ever, but this loco seems to find anyplace you have a problem. So besides looking good and running good it will find all of the nasty surprises on your layout.

    Art
  2. Harry

    Harry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Art,

    Don't quite get what you are implying.
    Is that train something special that can find problem for you or it is sensitive and therefore you use it as a reference?

    I have certain points in the layout sometimes just mysteriously not conducting current at all. Wondering if you have solution on it.

    Harry
  3. Art Lamb

    Art Lamb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is very sensitive to finding any problems you may have in your layout. Once you get this loco running good on a layout I doubt that you will have any more derails or the like.

    This loco has made running our layout a charm. We fixed 2-3 places on the layout and now things are really so much better for everything. I have found Atlas locos to be more forgiving of track problems, but the cars trailing them might not be.

    If you have electrical problems let Catt know... he is great at helping to find those little electric gremlins. He has good advice on how and why to wire things.
    Art
  4. Cibolo-N

    Cibolo-N New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a rail joint on a curved section of flex track that the -9s didn't like. Two-axle trucks and a 2-10-0 had no problem with it so I don't know if it's any three-axle truck or just the -9s that would push the leading axle off the track.
  5. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have found that the SD90's are the same, they seem to find any 'problems' with my track.

    Mike.
  6. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well my SD80 don't find problems. :rolleyes:
  7. grumbeast

    grumbeast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find my Kato PA doees this.. the 6 axle trucks so close together are really sensitive at finding kinks and even really slight areas that are out of gauge (usually under 9mm)

    Graham
  8. Lenny53

    Lenny53 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Graham;

    I've seen similar problems with the PAs down at my club. No other loco seems to react this way, not the Dash 9s nor the LL or ConCor PAs. They seem to have a lot of difficulty with Peco code 80 switches in particular and I've been wondering if it has something to do with the Kato's design.

    Lenny
  9. Dan Crowley

    Dan Crowley Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    ????? Not sure how to take this thread. I pesonally like the loco's that can't find the problems!!!!!!. When the Kato F3 first came out years ago, that is one of the things I loved about them. They seemed to make my trackwork better.

    If I need to find track trouble, all I need to do is push an empty flat car around.

    Dan