New N scale member

guyvanwettering

Jun 4, 2007
Beauregard Alabama
Hello, how is everybody today? Well I am new to this hobby forum and I have to say that I am pleased to see a forum that is used truly for what it is intended for. I have been reading your posts and I have been getting alot of good information and ideas for my model railroad (I'm trying to build a representation of the N&W in the last days of steam). I will have alot of questions to ask as I am just starting to get into the DCC aspect of the hobby. I recently installed an MRC Brilliance sound decoder in one of my Js and it works great. I have a few Y-3 mallets to convert But I really can't decide on which decoder to use. Does anyone out there hve a preference to which decoder I should use. I have no brand loyalty right now since I am just getting started. So far, the MRC does well but that is the only decoder I have ever had or even used. I am at a little of a disadvantage because in my area I think I am one of the only ones involed in this hobby so I don't have access to anyone elses layout for a demonstration. Anyones input would be apreciated. Thanks again.:wave:

scubadude

Sep 5, 2006
Richardson, Texas
Welcome Aboard The Gauge! I assure you will find answers to all the questions you will have right here from the expert modellers found on the Gauge (Dr. Wayne, Deano Josh are a few of the ones to watch!)stooges8

Have fun.................sign1

rogerw

Jun 16, 2006
manhattan ks
Good morning and welcome. I still consider myself a rookie but I am picking up tips from here all the time. I like the tcs decoders, they have a 1 year goof proof warrenty which I have used:eek:ops: I have not played around with sound as of yet but there are many that have and im sure will chime in. again welcom

guyvanwettering

Jun 4, 2007
Beauregard Alabama
N scale steam decoders