new logger with guestions

cascademan

Hi,
im new to this hobbie. Im planning on making a 5' by 9' HO logging layout. Ive been studying logging through books and pictures for about a year now and im excited! It is based in the cascade mountains of washington and ive researched its location. I will be running about 4 locos on it. 3 shays and a climax. I own a 3 truck bachmann shay and i love it. I would like to have two more shays though. 2-truck small shays are what im really intrested in. I think im going to get a keystone shay, but i don't know yet. Anyone know where I can get some small backwoodes shays The sawmill of my layout is a sierra west scale deer creek sawmill. A great model but i am very worried about the skill level. I don't know if it would be too complicated for me. Anyone have some advice for me?

thanks for the help,

cascademan:wave:

pgandw

The only small HO Shays I know of are the Keystone and imported brass. The Roundhouse/MDC and Bachman are models of fairly modern 50+ ton prototypes. The Keystone is a model of a 20 ton prototype. The Riviarossi Heisler again is a model of a relatively large and modern prototype.

Right now, NWSL motorizing kits for the Keystone are out of production - you will have to scrounge around to get one. They are expecting to resume production soon. The Keystone/NWSL kit is not for the faint of heart - but the result is really sweet. I've got one to build in both HO and HOn3.

This is my favorite rant - I want to see models of 1900 and earlier and small and light prototypes.

yours in gearing down

Tileguy

The sawmill of my layout is a sierra west scale deer creek sawmill. A great model but i am very worried about the skill level. I don't know if it would be too complicated for me. Anyone have some advice for me?