New Lionel ZW transformer or other

Rod

Jan 3, 2006
I did not see a prior post to answer this, so here goes. I'm pretty new to model railroading, even though I'm 54. :) For a few years, I've hooked up a simple Lionel railroad under my Christmas tree. Last year I got a second train and I just purchased a third. So far I have run one train at a time on a fairly basic track set-up using the 40W transformer supplied with my first train set. I want to hook up a larger, more complicated track and run two (maybe more) trains at a time. I will need a new power source and was thinking of getting a new model Lionel ZW with two 135 or 180 W powerhouses. Does this make sense? Are there other ideas or things I should know? Thanks for your help.

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Rod that is one way.
Check what you need for running -- there seem to be a large number of ZW variations with TMCC.
You could also but a number of small packs -- something between 80 and 100 watts. (Lionel seems to have a very small selection of transformers these days.)

pgandw

Jul 9, 2005
The best answer depends upon where you see your future heading. There are 2 partially compatible command control systems out there - Lionel's TMCC and MTH's DCS. I don't know enough to advise if you are planning to eventually go down one or both of these paths.

If you are staying with non-command systems and locomotives (which means you give up a lot of control over the various sound systems), then a used post war transformer with replaced power cord and plug is actually a better solution than most new transformers.

With multiple conventional transformers - ideally one per train, and more if necessary for accessories - the track should be wired with the cab control (sometimes called "block") wiring scheme. The outcome is that the same transformer controls the same train no matter where it goes on the track by selecting the controlling transformer for each "block" of track.