New guy Here

spectre

Hello to you all

First of all, I want to say, I am very new to this hobby and am interested in getting into N Guage trains ( I currently collect 1:400 and 1:500 aircraft)

ok, to my question...
is there any online resource to what locomotives are in service with what companys..also, what modern locomotives can be used with other locomotives? Driving cross country I see a lot of differient looking locomotives hooked together..and I can't really tell what is what ( Like I said..I am very new)

A little about myself,
I am 29 years old, and a Flight Engineer for the U.S. Air Force on the C-130H1 Hercules. Newly Married and always away from home :) but hey, thats my job :)

Thank you in advance,
Todd M. Allen

rockislandmike

First off, welcome.

Second, depending what railroad you're interested in, you can usually find a roster somewhere on the web. You might want to start with this link, which has quite a few.

http://www.ole.net/~rcraig/MPR.html

If you're interested in some off-beat ones, you may have to ask here, or most railroads have historical societies where someone might know the answer.

Most any locomotive can be used with any other locomotive. Many railroads like to run similar units together, as tractive effort, etc., is more easily matched. I.e., GE with EMD, or even down to the models, like GP38-2's together in a consist. But again, with today's advanced technology, it's my understanding there's no real rules about this anymore - whatever's available is what's going out on the road.

Another website that might be handy is the following:

http://urbaneagle.com/data/RRdieselchrono.html

It's a chronology of all diesel locos through 1989. If you want anything newer than that, though, you're out of luck. Fortunately, I model 1980, so that website provided me all the info I needed.

TinGoat

Ignorant know it all
Rule of thumb....

Welcome to the world's greatest hobby!

Starting out can be intimidating, but don't let it get you down.