New camera but no Macro...sigh

Discussion in 'Photos & Videos' started by Lightbender, Apr 6, 2004.

  1. Lightbender

    Lightbender Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a new digicam and it has lots of features, including AVI movies and tv out. whee! but unfortunately no macro. So...here's a shot taken through my optivisor lens of my new P2k 0-8-0 switcher.



    [​IMG]
  2. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you got an optical zoom on the camera? If yes, try backing up a bit, and then zooming in on the detail.

    Macro is great for close-up work on flowers and things like that, but in the real world, you wouldn't shoot trains with a macro. Using the telephoto approach can compress distances, making the scene look a bit flat, but it also helps avoid the "fish-eye" distortion when using a wide angle at close range in order to fit the entire scene in.

    Hope that helps. The 0-8-0 looks great...! I really like my P2K 0-6-0. :D

    Andrew
  3. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Tony,
    Having some photo problems are you, okay, need to know what the camera is and can do. In other words how big a photo will it take and in what format. i.e. tiff/jpg/bmp or other. Tell me if you can take a large photo say A3 size, if you can then it will be easy to crop out a portion and still not lose quality.
    Here's a photo I took today to show you what I mean, this photo was hugh A3+ size and I cropped out the man from it.
    Here's the photo which has been reduced from the original by 23%
    [​IMG]
    Shamus
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • mac.jpg
      mac.jpg
      File size:
      48.5 KB
      Views:
      84
  4. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't see the piccy, Tony :cry:

    Like Shamus said, if you have hte megapixals, you can crop and have an effective macro. You might run into trouble doing this with a 1 or 2 MP camera, but you can crop a lot away from a 3 MP image, and even more with 4 or 5 MPs.

    Also, if it has a threaded lense, you might be able to get some close-up filters at a camera shop or mail order. If it doesn't have TTL focus, this might mess up autofocus tho.
  5. Lightbender

    Lightbender Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tips guys, but sadly what I have is a toy and can do none of those clever things. It is 2.1 mp and has flash and an LCD takes movies and will play back on a tv. No close up or focusing but it did cost just over $100 CDN about 45 Quid so I wasn't expecting much and it is great fun;
    [​IMG]
    I bought it because it was cheap and I got caught up in a buying frenzy with fellow Otters Shaywen, shown with her new camera;
    [​IMG]
    and Wiebe shown with his taken with my camera;
    [​IMG]
    The manual doesn't want me taking any dirty pictures as this excerpt shows;
    [​IMG]
  6. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then you better not! :D :D :D

    You can still do a fair amout of cropping to get down to the 640 X 480 mallowed to post here, and reasonable for e-mail or posting anywhere. And your first shot is focused towards the back, I see rivets! It's near macro. And you're right, they are a lot of fun!!! It may take experimentation, but I'll bet you will get some great close up shots with that baby.;)