new boy aroud + question

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by BNSFsd60m, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. BNSFsd60m

    BNSFsd60m New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there!
    im new here and thought to sat hello:wave:

    also i need your opinion if anyone of you have the 'totally wired' rapido trains poles- is it really that good?
  2. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi :wave:

    Welcome to the Gauge

    I cant comment on the Rapido Telephone Poles, all i can say is i have been wanting to get a few packs of them for some time now, but everytime i find myself with money, i spend it on something else wall1 LOL They look like a GREAT product tho
  3. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome!

    I wonder if Modellers' Choice in Hamilton has any you can look at in person?

    The only drawback I see is if you need less of a run that what they have strung together. Cutting them short would seem to undo one of the greatest benefits of having them pre-strung...?

    Andrew
  4. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    The instructions hint that you can use CA adhesive and an accelerator on the insulator before trimming the wires on the poles. This apparently will keep the wires from pulling loose if you only want to run a short string of them.

    http://www.rapidotrains.com/manuals/telepoles_english.pdf

    Seems pretty straight forward and a rather ingenious way to install them. I might consider giving them a try when I'm ready for them. Probably one of the last things you want to do scenery wise on your layout too.

    Oh and welcome to The Gauge!!! :wave:
  5. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it would be the last thing you would want to do scenery wise on a layout. Not in the sense that you wouldn't want to use them, but in the sense that they would be something of a hazard to work around if you install them before the rest of the scenery is done.
  6. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's pretty much what I was getting at but yeah that's the ticket! :thumb:
  7. abutt

    abutt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Poles plus the wires? No no for this kid!

    Last layout had the poles in the town areas, and they looked good. I tried one small area in another section with wires and they lasted about a week when my grandson plowed through them to fix a derailment. On a "round the wall" shelf layout they might work by keeping them on the far side of the track. But I found my imagination put the wires in with no damage.:mrgreen:

    Allan
  8. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    If Modeller's Choice doesn't have them, I know these folks do.

    They do look very nice (at least in the box and the pictures). I have yet to see them installed on someone's layout.
  9. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are strung with a very stretchable "wire" that is supposed to avoid this problem. Maybe you could swing a free set in exchange for a "certified grandson-proof" stamp of approval...! ;) :D

    Andrew