Need scratch build advise.

jkristia

Aug 1, 2002
Simi Valley, CA,
Visit site
I building my first scratch build structure, based loosely on the Santa Susana Depot in Simi Valley. Since it's my first building, I know that it won't be perfect, but of course I would like to get as close as possible. The picture shows where I'm at right now, and that's why I need some advise. What would be the best way to do the windows and doors? I'm thinking of trying to build them from 0.020" x 0.020" styrene strips (roughly 3x3" in N scale), but don't know if it's possible or if it's too tiny. If that fails, I might try the drywall mesh thing.

But any advise of how to achieve the 'right look' will be appreciated.
I have a picture of the real depot here

http://community.webshots.com/album/76915961FHkwQn

IMG_3024.JPG

Tyson Rayles

Sep 25, 2001
Poverty Acres, North Carolina
Visit site
It looks like you are doing a very nice job so far. I would check a Walthers catalog for Grandt Line window and door castings. Depending on what scale this is you might find other companies that make em' as well. Look under super detailing parts or scratch building supplies. :)

davidstrains

Aug 29, 2002
Stafford, VA
Visit site
jk,

Like Tyson said, looks great so for. Another suggestion for the windows is a tip that I received from errol (kettlestack). He scribes the window frames and pane dividers on clear acetate with a draftmans pen and ink. They look very good.

I have not worked with styrene so I can not advise you on that. Just have fun.
:) :)

jkristia

Aug 1, 2002
Simi Valley, CA,
Visit site
Sorry, forgot to mention it's N scale and I have already checked Grandt Line, they don't have exactly what I'm looking for, but actually now when I think of it, maybe I can make one of their windows fit. Thanks for the idea.

jmarksbery

Sep 25, 2002
Butler, Kentucky USA
members.aol.com
Fine Job,