Need Comments on Layout Plan

Johnr0836

Mar 8, 2007
Hi! Here is a layout I'm working on. The benchwork is mostly done. The theme is a defunct logging operation/tourist railroad. There is an upgrade starting from the curve with the "0.3" next to it. The rest of the numbers on the plan are not correct. I'm still learning how to use RTS. Most of the switches are 18" Snap Switches should I consider #4's? I plan on using flex track. Operation will be DCC. Scale is ON30. I hope the file gets posted. Each box on the plan is one foot. Thanks for you help.

John

Attachments

• LayoutPlan.pdf
    32.9 KB · Views: 198

hubba90bubba

Jan 1, 2007

I think the general layout looks fine.

Are you planning to ad any more spurs? They could be interesting scenic features and you’d have the possibility to do some switching.

A couple of small suggestions about the track plan, I’d change the right hand turnout leading in to the siding on the right side to a left hand turnout. You could then let the curve of the mainline from the upper level continue through the turnouts diverting rout. By that you’d avoid a S-curve in to the siding. You might also want to consider putting in a short stretch of straight track at the point were the 0.3 is marked and bit up and to the left of the point were the 2.9 is marked to avoid more S-curves.

/Mattias

Nomad

Sep 26, 2006
Elks Plain, Washington
John, I noticed on your plan that the crossover is not aligned. That could be due to using snap switches. To me, they have a funny radius that does not line up right. If you have not bought your turnouts yet, try redrawing using #4 customlines. I have found that parrallell tracks and crossovers align a better. In fact, on my new layout, I took out 21 snaps and replaced them all with customlines.

Loren

Johnr0836

Mar 8, 2007