N-scale questions

woopud

Jan 8, 2006
Colorado
Are there starter sets available from any brand that have dcc build in allready ?
Thinking about building a freight yard layout, and i'm wondering if n-scale will run nice and smooth ?

Bert

FiveFlat

Dec 26, 2005
Galt, CA
I'm new to N-scale too, but I think for a starter set you should look for Bachmann Spectrum series. I see their sets for around $190.

skipgear

May 15, 2005
There is only one currently available N scale "train set" that has DCC included and it doesn't include a DCC controler, only a DC. It is the Bachmann Accela that was just released. It has a decoder installed that is backwards compatible (will work with both DC and DCC). The set comes with a standard DC power supply.

Look for more N sets from Bachmann with DCC next christmas season. They released a few HO sets with DCC this year and even one set with the DCC controler and 2 loco's so that you could get full use of DCC. They are pushing for DCC in HO and will soon be doing the same in N. Any new Spectrum N loco releases from Bachmann will be coming with DCC installed.

BTW - I agree with the statement above, the Bachmann Spectrum train sets make excellent starter sets. Their steam set comes with one of the best steam loco's you can get in N scale and it is not too bad to convert to DCC.

Dingo69

Jan 3, 2006
Not sure what you guy in the US have but I am currently looking at one of the following 2 sets:

Currently looking at one of the following starting packs:

Trix/Merklin

T11120 Trix Systems Era IV Super Start Set with 2 trains and large oval track