N Scale Lifelike/Walthers Heritage 2-8-4

I swear one of these days I will start a thread without a problem. I purchased an N scale 2-8-4 Lifelike back before Xmas. When I went to run it on my test track - it moved about an inch and quit. It would not go into reverse. After inspection I found that one of the drive rod pins came out of one of the drive wheels on the right side. I think it was the back one. I tried to replace the pin to no avail. I'm not a mechanic & I didn't want to break anything. I emailed TRAIN HAUS (eBay Merchant) and they said send it back they had a replacement. I received the replacement yesterday and after a lap or so on my test track - this one froze up too! This time the small drive rods on the front got jammed and the whole unit came out of the drive wheel. I emailed TRAIN HAUS again & they replied that they were out of stock and they have sold dozens of this unit with no returns, but send this one back as well. Mailing it today.wall1
My test track is nothing more than the Bachman track & power pack that came with the Iron Duke train set. At first I thought it may be the small radius curves I am using. But then I remembered that I purchased a 2-8-4 Lifelike Berkshire back in Nov. & it worked fine. My question is this- Has anyone else out there had any similar problems with the N scale Lifelike 2-8-4 ? Thanks as always.

N

nachoman