N Scale Coffee Table

kf4jqd

Hello:

I am planning to build an N scale coffee table. Our local rr club has one. They tried to sell it to me for $300! I would rather build one instead buying a prebuilt one. Has anyone built one before. Anyone has plans for the wood work and wiring?

Any ideas?

Andy

billk

Andy -
I have a book that you might be interested in. When I get home I'll let you know its name. Hang in there.

Bill K

Drew1125

Hi Andy,
I'm not sure if Bill has this book, but I have a Kalmbach book called Model Railroading In Small Spaces, by Mat Chibbaro. There are two plans in this book for N scale layouts enclosed in tables, with detailed instructions for everything from woodworking, to scenic detail.
It's an interesting book for any modeler.
Good Luck, & remember, we want pictures!:)

Drew1125

Andy,
Remember too, when considering a track plan, that a 4x8 HO plan translates into about 28x57in. in N scale. Possibly not too large for a coffee table, & if necessary, by going with slightly smaller curve radii, you could shave a couple of inches off of that. Just keep in mind that the vertical dimention is critical too, if everything is going to fit "under glass".

My layout is going to fit into a dinning room table. My wife saw an artical in Model Railroader about a coffee table layout and thought it was a much better idea than using half of the back bedroom for a layout. I convinced her that it was too small and offered no oportunity for switching operations. (24" x 48")

The result is a dinning room table layout 33" x 62" with a glass top that overhangs 7" on each side for a table top deminsion of 47" x 76" (close to 4' x 7') large enough to seat 8 comforatably and 10 in a pinch. the layout section will be a completely seperate drop in. I had to limit the base to 3/8" plywood to ensure less than 6" vertical from the bottom of the base to the top of the trains at the highest point on the layout. I am at 5 & 3/4" now.