My work in progress!

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by CPRSD40-2, May 22, 2003.

  1. davidmbedard

    davidmbedard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK!.......SAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET!

    YA

    Come and Get me!!!
    WooHOO

    Amen

    Zippidde dooda! Zippidde day!

    Cheers
  2. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that I've spent all of my money on the Digitrax system, I don't have any left for decoders! So when you come over, you might have to bring a few DCC locomotives, and a throttle! ( I think CP#9007 is DCC right?!)
  3. davidmbedard

    davidmbedard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    like I said before...COME GET ME!! Call first
  4. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's finally set up and working! Yahooo!

    Attached Files:

  5. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad to see you have DCC installed now Mike. I have Digitrax too and love it. So easy to set up. I have found it difficult to install decoders in N gauge locos unless it is one of the plug in and play type so now only buy locos with decoders already installed. The benefit of Digitrax is that you can still run the non decoder locos using address 00. They buzz a bit but work.
  6. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robin, will it hurt my DC locos running them on DCC? I know it's not a good idea to let them sit there for a long time, but will it do any damage to them, until I get decoders, if I use address 00?
  7. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike, according to the info I have it will not hurt your analog locos to run at address 00. I have run mine with no problems, no over heating. As a Digitrax throttle can handle two locos you could run a decoder equipped loco at the same time as your analog loco. It is possible to lash up a number of analog locos and the group will all react to address 00 commands. I have done it with three locos. Two Atlas and one Kato. They do work against each other a bit so it is better to lash up the same make locos.
  8. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    David came by and we ran some trains today, there was also some CP locomotives not normaly seen on my layout! (Thanks Dave! It's much more fun when we can run 2 trains at the same time!) Here are some pictures...

    Attached Files:

  9. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    This train with a CP SD90 and a SD40-2F might have been going by bit too fast to get a good picture!

    Attached Files:

  10. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is CP # 5804, still in need of a good cleaning! We only had one derailment, and it did of course happen on the mountain, It's a long way to the ground! 5 rail cars were damaged, nothing to serious, but I am going to get some scenery done before running to many more trains up to the second level!

    Attached Files:

  11. hemiadda2d

    hemiadda2d Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to see you're still, like me, among the c80-faithful! *when it's weathered, it's hard to tell any difference!! At least, that's my story, and I'm stickin' to it!*
    Did you glue your track down?
    Nice shots of Dave's units, especially cool seeing the cowl-body unit!
  12. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I'm still using code 80, I've got about 700 feet of it laid, so it's a bit too late to change now! I used latex contact cement on the corkroadbed and the track, it works very good. I might have to get David to help me make an SD40-2F, they look good on my layout!
  13. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good action shots Mike. Sorry to hear about the derailment. Nows the time to check all your track laying before you put all the scenery up. Can't afford to have derailments in a tunnel.
  14. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is the new power on my layout! I think it looks good with 6003. Amazing job David! Thanks!

    Attached Files:

  15. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's my favourite colourscheme for CP on the 9400. Now they are all red
  16. davidmbedard

    davidmbedard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks better on your layout buddy!

    Cheers

    PS...like my sig?
  17. Clerk

    Clerk Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think your signature is neat David.
  18. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your signature looks great! I think it is also fitting!
  19. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice collection David
  20. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might have made a mistake going with Digitrax for my DCC. It seems way to complicated for a hobby, are there any other DCC systems that are easy to program and use?