My Track Plan

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by jeffrey-wimberl, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know there's going to be a flurry of suggestions about where to put what new track and where to rerun a track. There's not room.

    [​IMG]
  2. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you make the 3' 5" bottom left wider for larger radius or will you be running short cars and engins?
  3. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't make it any wider than it is. To do so would mean also making it longer and there's a kitchen sink and a walkway that say I can't do that. 18" radius is the limit. I'm not running any cars over 60' length and may longest loco is an AC4400 which I've adapted to run well on 18". Good suggestion though. As I said, there's not room.
  4. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only alteration I would make is to the two crossovers between the main and the branch. You can cut down on the S curves a bit by making one turnout (in each) come directly off the curve of the branch. This might take a bit of revision and you might have to do it with 18"r snap switches.
  5. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok cool just a thought