My N Gauge Layout

dr.5euss

Hi,

I'm new to N but not model railways - I used to do On30 :D

Anyway, I have to attic to play with (17ft x 11ft) and i have some questions.

I'd like it set in Arizona/Grand Canyon county type thing. So, I want to raise the lower track by 2" on the Woodland Scenics risers, then have an inlcine of 2" over 8 ft to get to a 4" height.

I'd like to run some double headers, but is this going to be hard on DC? I have the Bachmann EZ Command somewhere, but I will most likely be buying 2nd hand locos that are quite old, and therefore not DCC fitted. How easy is it to fit to N gauge diesel locos?

Finally, is my 2" in 8ft OK - it's also on large radius loop (what's a good radius?)?

Thanks,:wave:

dr.5euss

Forgot the basic mainline plansign1

plan-5.jpg

Pooh Bah
George: doubleheading using DC is not a problem if the locos are reasonably matched. You don't have the ease of DCC where you can couple them together, but you just run them as one.
I have a few HO locos where one won't move if the other is in the block; usually the old heavy duty motors.
I won't comment about DCC chips in N.

TruckLover

Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer
What era are going to model in? Will you have big desiels (6 axles) or smaller (4 axles) or steam. Also, what types of cars to you want to run?? Big long 89' autoracks or smaller boxcars...

dr.5euss

Not sure what I want to run really, anything that's cheap I guess :D

I'd say boxcars, and I'd like the get co-cos if possible. No steam, thank yousign1

I take it locos are 'matched' if they draw the same sort of current?

johnny b

dr.5euss said:
Not sure what I want to run really, anything that's cheap I guess :D

I'd say boxcars, and I'd like the get co-cos if possible. No steam, thank yousign1

I take it locos are 'matched' if they draw the same sort of current?

I think they mean if they run at the same speed and strength .

dr.5euss

Will they run at the same speed and strength if they draw the same?