My early days

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Some of you may already know that in the 1960's I was a professional harmonica player doing Radio in the UK and abroad. later in life I had to give up playing due to poor health. However, I did manage to make 5 cassettes - 1 record and a CD of all my harmonica work. This piece of music called "Madrid" is one of my own compositions I recorded using a multi track system in a recording studio. All the harmonica's played are by little ole me.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I used to do playing it.

Shamus

RailRon

Nov 23, 2002
Trimbach, Switzerland
Paul, it's great to hear from you again - and this time 'hear' is meant literally!

My Dad also played the harmonica very well (although not professionally). Oh, he would have loved your composition, because this was his preferred style of music. Thank you for sharing it with us.

This brought back sweet memories (also from the fifties and sixties) when we got out his harmonica and my guitar and made some music.

Ron

Roger Wellman

Feb 3, 2003
Delaware, Ohio
Visit site
This is GREAT STUFF! You obvously are the Les Paul of the harmonica! He set the tone for guitar music today ... and you obviously have raised the standard for the haromica! Wow! Is your music available by CD? Cassette? Sure would be another inspiration for us ... seeing your RR talents AND hearing your music at the same time! Thanks for sharing another talent with us!

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi all and thanks.
Robin, I don't play/can't play anymore, lungs won't allow it.

Don, They were mostly recorded around the 1970's mark just after I became British Harmonica Champion.

Roger, yes most of my early Radio work and some concerts are on CD but I doubt if you will be able to buy it now, same goes for the record and cassettes, toooooo far back my friend.

Lucky I still have everything I played on Reel to Reel so I can make CD's from them.
cheers all
Shamus

TR-Flyer

Nov 24, 2001
SC