MRC SoundMaster 210 for N scale?

Hello, Forum! Newbie Paul here from Vancouver, Canada. Recently decided I'll never fit an HO layout into my limited space, so bought a Bachmann N-scale 2-8-0 and a few used cars and now am experimenting, with hopes to build a small (3 x 6 ft or so) layout sometime soon.

I have a leftover MRC SoundMaster 210 that I used with my HO engines. I've tried hooking it up to the N scale track when I run my new engine, but cannot get a steam engine sound out of the speaker, only a soft hiss. (The sound effects buttons work just fine.) Reading the instructions, I note that the product is for "any HO or larger model railroad", so I guess it'll never work with N scale.

Does anyone know how I can "trick" my SoundMaster into responding to the track power curve of my N engine? This is a faint hope, but maybe ... ?

BTW -- I've enjoyed lurking the site this past month and looking at posters' layouts and conversations. You folks are sure doing some interesting things!

kettlestack

Jan 18, 2002
Scotland UK
Visit site
Welcome to The Gauge Paul.

As your 210 is normally connected to the track in HO I assume it expects voltages in excess of 6 or 7 volts to give decent sound effects. N locos can run quite fast with 9 volts applied so would probably be run at 5 or 6 volts.

Assume your 210 needs 12 volts to work at peak quality and you run your N loco at 7 volts (max). The loco may take typically 0.4 amp.
Try putting a 5.6 Ohm 2 watt resistor between your power pack and your track and connect the 210 directly to the throttle output.
That would supply up to 12 volts to your 210 while the resistor reduces that 12 volts to 7 volts max.

BTW, I wasn't aware that the 210 got connected to the track, but then what do I know about it? ... :)
I always fancied one of those 210's but I'm beginning to wonder now. (I've switched from HO to N).

Errol

Vic

Feb 1, 2002
Columbus GA
Visit site