mrc controler

belg

Hey if you had someone telling you they were going to buy you a new controller as a present and money was no object wihch controller would everyone get? I run N scale trains with parallel double track with two seperate power feeds and 15 turnout for industry and the like.Hope this gives enough info to make a decision.Thanks:D

Clerk

I have a Tech ll with dual controls to run trains on two main lines and serves all industries off the main lines and all switches. I also have a Railmaster 1300 that I use for yard switching and lighting. I am very satisfied with them. Just make sure that all tracks are wired with the same polarity so when you transfer a train from one track to another there will not be a short.

belg

hey Clerk thanks for the response since I'm new at this,the question that comes to me is,if I use a controller designed for dual operation do they share a common ground and have two power takeoffs?I plan on running bus wires for main track would that be the best way to go?:confused:On the second controller you say that you run your yard and lights off how does it differ from the first one?

Clerk

My controler has 2 terminals for each track. Do not use a comon bus for both tracks because you will run trains in oposite directions and you can not do that with a comon bus line. Wire each track as if it is by itself.
I use dpdt with center off switches to switch between the two controlers. Shamus has a diagram that shows this very well. This dual controler also has a 14 volt ac connection for the accessorys and switches. The other one has 2 terminals for the tracks and a 14volt AC for acessorys like lights.