Motor Mounting

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Steve Lancaster, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. Steve Lancaster

    Steve Lancaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am trying to mount a can motor to a dicast Shay frame. I have seen photos of
    what appears to be a motor mounted in putty. Can anybody tell me a good putty to use? I would be interested if this is a good method or if ther are better ways of doing this.
    Thanks Steve
  2. shortliner

    shortliner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many use silicone caulk - I haven't, but it seems to work
    Shortliner(Jack)away up here in the Highlands
  3. nachoman

    nachoman Guest

    I havent used caulk, but I have used goo from walthers with success. Just make sure the motor shaft lines up well with the gearbox shaft.

    kevin
  4. Dick Elmore

    Dick Elmore Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumb: I bought a Rivarossi 4-6-2 Pacific, new for $10 once. The hobby shop that I bought it from was going out of bussiness and someone had cannibalized
    it for the motor. I ordered a motor from NWSL and after removing the original plastic mounting cradle, I mounted the motor in clear silicon. Since the silicon absorbs all the vibration, it is the quietest, smoothest running Steam engine that I own!!!

    Dick
    Texas Chief
  5. Roger Hensley

    Roger Hensley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Silicone Adhesive Caulk. I have used this several times with complete success. Mere caulk isn't really enough. You need the adhesive version.
  6. Steve Lancaster

    Steve Lancaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all of your help. A little white silcon marine chaulk helped resurrect a vintage
    2Tk Shay.It is running now for some tuning.
    Steve