Mike Hagarty's N scale 'Mountain Sub'

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by SD90, Mar 19, 2007.

  1. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a question for everyone about my staging yard, maybe you could offer some suggestions.

    Here is where the staging yard will be.

    [​IMG]

    I was going to have 2 seperate yards, each with 6 tracks, one for Eastbound trains and one for Westbound. (point to point) Then I thought about just making it 1 yard so I have the option of continues running.
    2 yards each with 6 tracks, means I will have to keep 1 clear, in each yard to run power down, which gives me 10 tracks. If they are one yard, I will get 11 tracks with 1 track clear.
    Would you make it point to point or continues running?

    Thank you for your advice!
  2. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    My opinion would be for continues running because there can be times when just sitting back and watching the trains go by can be extremely relaxing. Plus as you said, with two yards you can have ten trains set up, whereas with one yard, you can have 11. More trains is always better :) You can always run the layout as a point to point with the continuous running, but you cannot run the layout continuous running if you set it up point to point. But just remember, this from a guy who has a club layout with a double line of about 120 feet total of continuous running.
  3. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with jesso. I know if I had the space to do it, I would.
  4. TCH

    TCH Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    my layout is a continuous loop but I nearly always operate point to point.
    my advice is to have both if you can - it is useful for running in locos etc
  5. trainsteve2435

    trainsteve2435 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike, great layout, even though i miss the last one, but im sure this one will be as awesome as its predicessor!:thumb:
  6. mcbane666

    mcbane666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    make one yard with both ends returning to the main line, this way you can drop off cars at both ends, mix up loads, or just bypass it.
  7. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    The main and siding are laid on the grain elevator module now. I decided to make a long double track with 2 crossovers in the middle. From switch to switch it is 38 feet, ( 100 car trains?! ) so it can hold 2-50 car trains, and stil have the main open, or 1-100 car train if there happens to be a train that long on the layout! It can also be used as a run-around for the crew switching the elevator.
    Here are some pictures...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And an over view.

    [​IMG]
  8. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've dicided to make staging, one big double ended yard. 1 track in and 1 track out. That way I don't need to make a stub ended track to get the locmotives back down a clear track. Thanks for everyone's thoughts!
  9. mcbane666

    mcbane666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    What an awesome set up this is turning out to be, hope you will be adding some video.
  10. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    mcbane666 ,I just looked through your web site, very nice work. Is that oil pump a kit or did you make it yourself? I might need to get a few of them on my layout!
  11. mcbane666

    mcbane666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks, I bought the kit from Alberta hobby here in Edmonton on the Yellowhead. It was a Walthers kit. I am still looking for another.

    I am also going to add some Pipelines in my layout.
  12. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally uploaded a track plan, sory for the poor quality, I haven't had time to do it on the computer yet.
    There will be 2 subdivions, with a crew chang point at the main yard. The Mountain Sub and the Foothills Sub. Interestingly, I haven't actually started the Mountain Sub yet! I wanted a grain elevator, and having 2 subs will let me get away with still having mountain scenery. It will be about 100 feet from the main yard in each direction to the start of the staging yard. The staging yard will be one yard, with the mountain sub staging at the front, and the foothills sub staging at the back. You will have the option of running right through if continues running is needed.

    [​IMG]
  13. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow! That is going to be a fun run! Looks like it will be long enough if you stay in one place you will have enough time to forget which trains you have running.
  14. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finished laying the track in the one of the grain elevators. There are 3 tracks, each will hold 12 grain cars. It's all wired and everything works with out any derailments.

    CP9524 is just about finished spoting the empties, I got some pictures this morning.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    There will be another smaller grain elevator just west of here that will hold about 12 cars. Durring an op session, there will be a road switcher that will pull all 48 grain cars, and take them back to the main yard where they will go west. If time permits, the same crew may spot another 48 from the yard back to the elevators. It should make for an interesting switcher assignment.
  15. mcbane666

    mcbane666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you plan to continue, Are you going to lay all the track then start with the scenery, or work in sections? if you lay all track first what kind of time frame are you looking at until all the track is laid for such a large layout?
  16. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I will try to lay all the track first, then start on scenery. After I run the layout for a while, I usually think of different ways to do things. It much easier to change the track BEFORE scenery is in!
    I hope to have all the track laid by spring and have the layout fully operational by then, as I'm wiring every section as I go.
    The next thing to do is finish the staging yard, and main yard, that way, I'll be able to run trains from the main yard to staging, which is about 130 feet. It will also allow me to put most of the rolling stock and locmotives I have on the layout.
  17. mcbane666

    mcbane666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm envies
  18. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of the track for the staging yard got installed today. There are 11 tracks, 6 of them are tied in on both ends, the longest tracks will hold 65 cars, the shortest ones, 48 cars. I'm going to try to finish the rest of them tomorrow and install feeders. I had to put a few more trains on the layout, just to test the staging yard switches out!

    Here is the West end of the staging yard...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And the East end...

    [​IMG]
  19. mcbane666

    mcbane666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Again, that is great work you are doing! What brand and type of switches are you using?