Mayewood Railroaders Goes Corporate

77railer

Dec 11, 2004
South Carolina
Well...due to the many suggestions I have been recieving concerning giving the big boys a chance to help our cause I have decided to contact manufactures of HO products. Here is the letter that I have faxed out.

To Whom It May Concern:

My name is Leroy Steigerwalt and I am a sixth grade mathematics teacher at Mayewood Middle School located in Sumter, South Carolina. My principal has agreed to allow the teachers to conduct clubs this school year. I belong to several large forums on the web and discussed the possibility of doing a HO layout at the school for the kids. The response has been tremendous. To date we have received items from Japan, London, Australia, Canada, and The United States. It is from the urges of many hobbyist all across the globe that I am writing your company. The students have two main goals concerning their layout. The first is to have it ready for the GATS show this coming April in Columbia. The second is to complete it and build a small switching yard that can be housed on a hollow core door in order to take to other schools and educate their peers about the hobby. For its ease and many advances we have chosen to use DCC on our 6X8 layout and the switching yard. However, we have not been able to secure all the items necessary to reach our goals. A gentleman from the states has donated a DCC starter kit which has the kids hooked on its apparent ease and versatility over DC. If possible we would like to expand upon it and use 5 hand held throttles to operate the locos on the 6X8 and 2 on the switching yard. We still need a system to operate the separate switching yard. Which brings to mind another set back. Our 6x8 layout will be able to handle five independent trains, and the switching yard will handle two, but we only have one engine that runs on DCC. We have five of the turnouts necessary to complete the layout but still lack the remaining eight and the 13 switching