manual switching methods

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by bandit, Jan 1, 2005.

  1. bandit

    bandit New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I am new to this forum and have a question I hope someone can answer. I am building a medium size 'n' scale layout. I have heard of several types of manual switches, specifically those that use a pull knob on the front facsia, linked by wire to the switch. I've also heard of a product called "Quick Switch" from Bear Valley railroad supply but don't know how to contact them. Any other ideas? No snap switches please. I am using atlas code 55 track and turnouts.
    Thanks for any help out there.
  2. ausien

    ausien Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi bandit,
    First let me welcome you to the GAUGE,:wave: you show great tast in joining us,(right guys).... Now to give you MY answer to your question... :confused: I have a very difficult point/switch, to get to, or point moter, so I used a ground throw, mounted three feet from the point(in direct line)the point is not used much, as it is a turn around road(north to south and vice vercer) this works for me, and it might work for you..Have a good one...steve
  3. seanm

    seanm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. bandit

    bandit New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!

    Thanks for the input. Some ideas to toss around. I've been experimenting with slide switches but using a solid wire gave it too much throw for the small code 55 switches. I may give it a shot using the piano wire.
  5. seanm

    seanm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem Bandit.... I am still wondering how I will end up acomplishing the same thing. I am using Atlas code 55 as well, but have not gotten to track laying yet. I like the slide switch idea, but I hate working under the layout.... I have in the past used HO switch motors and a music wire linkage that was very easy to setup. I may go back to that but add a relay to power the frogs and panel display.
  6. belg

    belg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Bandit welcome aboard let me ask a question if I may are you doing this to save money? Because from what I can see on most of those premade ones the cost is a little steep and a lot of other material required to make them work, as well as a TON of time to put them together and install. IMHO Pat
  7. bandit

    bandit New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It isn't so much a money thing. I used peco switch machines on my previous layout and found that while they worked very well, I hated the mass of wires, pushbuttons, and lamps needed to make everything work. With dpdt slide switches the wires only go to one source and I can use a single 2-color led on the control panel.
  8. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Bandit,

    If you are finding solid wire too stiff (don't know what you are using), you will not see any difference with piano wire - it is very solid!! The trick with the "choke cable" approach is to put a "Z" bend in the wire so it acts like a spring to keep the points against the rail. Be sure to mount your cable with the points in the middle, so that when you are done the Z streches as you pull it towards you, and compresses as you throw it over to the other side...

    Andrew