Making a new Locomotive

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Sir_Prize, Jun 25, 2004.

  1. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to (try to) make a GP20D, at least something like it. You see I have 2 LL GP18's with low nose. It looks like it will work fine, as far as the body.
    I was going to cut down the body to a RS-1 height, this will mean I need to cut down the weights. I'm not upset with that, these units aren't going to be dragging around long sets anyways. Soo... I think I'm all good there.
    My problem is the motor frame. The motor frame will end up higher then the body.
    What should I do to change the motor frame height? ...Different motor, perhaps from an actual Switcher (RS-1, sw1600, etc.)? ...Can the frame be cut down?

    :confused: :confused: :confused:
  2. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yea! Here is a link to the Unit I speak of:

    EMD GP20D
  3. davidmbedard

    davidmbedard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might consider using a Lifelike sw1200 chassis and lenthening it. I dont know how much you can remove from the Lifelike GP18 chassis.

    You might of answered you own question though. Use an RS1 or 2 or 3 chassis, and thatll solve alot of your problems. You should be able to find a cheap Atlas one lying around. But I think the RS chassis might be a little wide.

    Im rambling on.....as a kitbasher myself, Id say your in for a tough project.

    David
  4. Tyson Rayles

    Tyson Rayles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Messages:
    4,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ken I'd go with lengthing a LL SW9/1200 chassis.
  5. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a good idea! I can't wait to see some pictures!
  6. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kinda looks like a Santa Fe CF7 :thumb: Gotta love that glass house cab, keep us posted :thumb:
  7. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dudes... I pretty much have been mulling this over for a few months. I usually think and picture things in my mind for a good period of time before I start on it. That way I've traveled most every path in my mind before tearing into whatever.

    David- I wasn't looking at changing the chassis any. Just changing the motor, and the plastic that represents the loco, less metal work.

    Hmmm... Anybody mind measuring their Switcher motor and letting me know the size?
  8. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shaygetz- I think the cab is what set me on it, too. Could be that it just looks funky. It has a look of those "Green Goat" experimental locos, too.

    SD90- I'll try to remember pics. I like the step-by-step pics, too.

    Tyson- Hey, bro! How's it by you? Gotten that one up on the table for pizza, yet?!
  9. Tyson Rayles

    Tyson Rayles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Messages:
    4,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hanging in there Ken!
  10. MagicMan_841

    MagicMan_841 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    how about a Life-Like GP20 chassis. I guess the GP20D has the same length of other GP20's -- or no ?
  11. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Magicman- Thanks, but it would put me in the same place as far as the models electric motor frame. So, the chassis is fine; it's the internal parts that are the problem. If you look for pics of the GP20D you'll see they dropped the long hood to a level that can be easily seen over; like most Switcher Units. Plus, I already have the GP18's and a dead SD7 to donate plastic pieces to fill in the spaces when I move the cab forward.
    Perhaps, once Atlas is back up I'll look through their parts and see if I can find a motor that'll fit.
  12. davidmbedard

    davidmbedard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sir prize....the hood looks to be lower then the lifelike model.
  13. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    David- Yes, it is. That is why I need to figure out a smaller replacement motor for the model.
    The chassis and body I have all figured out. It is the motor and getting that to fit; or a replacement motor of proper size to fit in the altered hood height; that I'm blocked.
  14. davidmbedard

    davidmbedard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe call Lifelike and see if they will send you a SW1200 motor? It might work. They are really good about parts.
    :thumb:
  15. MagicMan_841

    MagicMan_841 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    The SW1200 motor would fit for sure. It's very small and runs very good.
  16. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like I'm trying to contact Life-Like.
    Ya'll wouldn't mind do a little cleaning on one "early" and give me some measurements (Metric would be fine)?
    I'd need the length Front gear to Rear gear (the shafts that connect to the worm gears) and like that.
    Hmmm... Actually a pic of the internals with a measuring stick next to it would be fine. I can figure size from there.
  17. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then that means for me it would be hopelessly impossible, espically since I'm no basher, I'm nice to my trains. ;)