M1A1 Thompson build thread

well, here it is. my own tommygun. Nothing has done a brilliant job once again, and this one even includes some formers to help keep it all in place. :thumb:

Shouldn't be too difficult a build for an average level of experience, and the instructions are clear enough for even a complete noob to muddle through. The colouring is quite attractive, but I'll be painting mine, so all the pretty woodgrain is a bit wasted on me. Still, it's there, and it will make a great model straight from the printer, so to speak.

...straight from the printer.....

Nope.

Ain't going to happen. :twisted:

Now. Where's that 1mm card.....

Oh noes.

100D0472.jpg

well, I'll have to wait till monday to restock.

See you then.

Okay, card in hand, lets get started.

Now I'm going to treat this as a bit of tutorioral on how I reinforce a model, and subsequently sand and smooth until I have a part that looks like a 1 piece molding or casting. So pay ettention. :mrgreen:

Firstly, this process results in a VERY strong model, but it's not suited to all models. It's absolutly not appropriate for your gplinski krokian flopwopper biplane with all the beautiful printed textures. It is suited to models with a simpler format, models that will need to take alot of handling, or large shapes which need a smooth continual line. You WILL have to paint it. I guess you could use the technique to create really strong framework for a more conventional approach, but You'll have to be super careful not to change the dimensions with all the shaping and sanding that will take place.

Now, where was I?

Ah. the Thompson. I'm going to build the receiver first, as this is central to the whole model. I began by laminating all the formers (parts F2) to 1mm card. This part confused me a bit at first, until I realised there are supposed to be tabs marked around the part, which arn't. F2 should be the same shape as part 7 (without the semi-circular cut-out).