Locomotive will not stay on track

dillan

Dec 21, 2006
I have a HO scale locomotive that simply will not stay on the track. The track appears to be connected properly, level, no gaps, etc... but it will not travel more than a few inches without coming off the track. I am a beginner model railroader so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

N

nachoman

if it is a loco with a traction tire (rubber band thing around one of the wheels), the traction tire could have come off and is now causing a derailment. When it isn't coming off at a particular spot in the track, that seems to indicate some kind of locomotive problem rather than a track problem.

kevin

prodigy2k7

Dec 17, 2006
is it deraiing at the same spot? or ANY spot on the rail? does it matter what speed its at? is it at a switch track? try makine it go fairly slow and watch it closely and see if u can see whats going on.. Is it during a turn? or does it derail on a straight piece?

dillan

Dec 21, 2006
nachoman said:
if it is a loco with a traction tire (rubber band thing around one of the wheels), the traction tire could have come off and is now causing a derailment. When it isn't coming off at a particular spot in the track, that seems to indicate some kind of locomotive problem rather than a track problem.

kevin
there is no ruber but there is a certin spot on the track were it derails.announce1

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site