Layout help

CRed

Dec 10, 2006
Duluth,MN
Hi,

I was going to use E-Z Track for my layout,but have decided that Kato Unitrack might be better.I would like to get the deluxe starter set and expand that by adding a couple straights to make it longer.What I want to know is if I wanted to add an track on the outside of that what would I need to do that?I'm new to this so it's a bit confusing for me so any help would be appreciated.

http://www.internettrains.com/merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=IT&Product_Code=KAT-03-103&Category_Code=HSCTRKSTRKAT

Thanks.
Chris

prodigy2k7

Dec 17, 2006
You can buy pieces of track from online stores, hobby stores etc... Im not sure about kato unitrack, im just giving a quick response since its late dunno if anyone else will respond. If its *anything* like the EZ track it basically snaps into place, they come in pieces and you put the track pieces together.

oldtanker

Feb 24, 2006
West central Mn
Lay a second track, there should be short str8 pieces about 2 1/2 long so the the curves will go around or use a slight larger curve on the outside.

Rick

CRed

Dec 10, 2006
Duluth,MN
oldtanker said:
Lay a second track, there should be short str8 pieces about 2 1/2 long so the the curves will go around or use a slight larger curve on the outside.

Rick
Yeah I was going to use 24" curves on the outside.What I was wondering is if I can just follow the outline of the inside set and get the same pieces of track.I know I'll need a left and right #4 turnout to connect both tracks,but what else?

Maybe some smaller straights to even it out?

Chris

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
It depends on the geometry of the curves. Some track needs (example only) 6 pieces to make a half circle, others need 8 pieces. It often depends on the radius, but also on the manufacturer.

It seems with Unitrack, it requires 16 pieces to make a circle, no matter what the radius is.