Large Turntables???

Nick8564

Sep 3, 2004
I have a 2-8-8-2 on my layout, and I want a truntable and roundhouse to put it in. Im having troubles finding a good turntable for this large locomotive. Im also trying to find the best bang for the buck, Im a college student trying to build a layout, and with no job this hobby gets expensive. Can anyone give me reviews or suggestions on any large turntables that will work well with DCC. Thanks
Nick

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I think the most inexpensive method would be to start with the Atlas turntable. The table will be too small, but you cut a hole in the benchwork big enough for a long turn table and put a board on the bottom of the hole. Scratch build and mount a long enough bridge on top of the Atlas table to fit your locomotive and run jumper wires from the Atlas rails to the rails on your new bridge. The Atlas table is now part of the bottom of your pit with a bridge on top. You would probably have to engineer a drive to work from under the Atlas table to clear the bridge. If you cover the original Atlas deck with ground foam and scenery material to hide it, it will look just like the bottom of a turntable pit.

green_elite_cab

Keep It Moving!
Apr 4, 2005
Hainesport NJ
Nick8564 said:
I have a 2-8-8-2 on my layout, and I want a truntable and roundhouse to put it in. Im having troubles finding a good turntable for this large locomotive. Im also trying to find the best bang for the buck, Im a college student trying to build a layout, and with no job this hobby gets expensive. Can anyone give me reviews or suggestions on any large turntables that will work well with DCC. Thanks
Nick

Walthers makes a 130' long truntable, which is long enough for a 4-8-8-4. its expensive though, i think its $250 or something. you could probably find it cheap at train shows. it can be mototized and used with DCC.

kchronister

Nov 1, 2004
Boiling Springs, PA