Kirkland Hill V1

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by CortezA, Sep 2, 2003.

  1. CortezA

    CortezA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going from an 4x10 to an around the room layout. I am having difficulties making the mental switch on how to layout the track. Here is my current track plan idea. Any feedback would be appreciated.

    Details:

    HO scale
    DCC
    Primarily 4 axle diesels
    Both passenger and freight
    Curves are 22"
    The two yards have #4.5 switches in the inside and #6 to enter
    All other switches are #6
    The blue passing tracks could be a passenger stations
    The green track could be an intermodal yard
    The yelow benchwork would be either a duckunder and a lift-out section
    The turntable would be an Atlas.
    Benchwork height is 41"
    The bechwork is 30" in depth, except in the obvious places.


    Thank you,
    Cortez

    [​IMG]
  2. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Cortez,
    The plan looks fine except I wouldn't put in the diamond (Crossover) Opposite the turntable, If you want to have 2 Continuous runs, I would suggest replacing the diamond with 2 pair of left and right points(Turnouts)
    Also I like the double switchback area, makes for good switching of cars .
    shamus
    [​IMG]
  3. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like it has a lot of operating potential. If you are running primarily 4 axle diesel, is there a reason for the turntable and roundhouse? Unless you modify the Atlas turntable, it won't index on that many tracks that close together. Is there a reason why you have an odd shaped layout instead of a square if you could fill out the square you would get a longer mainline run? I'm not sure about the two spur tracks with the runaround off the inside main in the diagonal benchwork just to the left of the crossover. It looks as though any cars left there will foul the runaround so that it isn't usable. I would reccomend a runaround between the inside main and the first track at that location with the inside track being just a spur to serve an industry.
  4. billk

    billk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like the tracks are 15deg apart - isn't that what the Atlas TT has?
  5. CortezA

    CortezA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shamus:

    I did have the 2 pair of turnouts like you suggested. The problem I found was that they did not fit completely on the liftout section or off of it. I could not find any other good places for it. I do like the idea of having two contnious runs but do not want to have a duckunder.

    Russ:
    The Atlas TT will hold that many tracks. I am not planning on doing that many. I have them there more to give me an idea of what could fit.
    Believe or not, that is the shape of the room I am working with.
    Could you elaborate on your comment on the "two spur tracks."? I do not understand.

    Thanks for the feedback. I have only doing this for 8 months.

    Cortez
  6. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Russ is talking about this section in the picture. If you put a car on either end of the "upper" track (furthest track from the main) then the run around will not be usable. You could extend the ends so that at least a car plus loco fit, but you might be better off with the run around attached to the main, and the two "upper" spurs not connected to each other...

    Andrew

    Attached Files:

  7. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about place one turnout on the liftout and one of them off it?

    or move it as in this picture?

    Attached Files:

  8. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    More thot(s) on the "two spur tracks" area, how about just open it up and put a siding or two in there? Industry, scenery, a mine, logging camp or engine servicing facility? Without much thought, I came up with this drawin' Whatever you go with, it's gunna be NEAT :D :D :D

    Attached Files:

  9. scoobyloven

    scoobyloven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    on that liftout why don't you try putting a switch at each end of the bench work the lift out one on one rail and the orhet one the other at the other end i had a lift out on my layout but i took it out after i had it hit by bortherzila when i was at the hospital with the wife and my boy would run under it and one day he did and bonk he smacked his head. if you have the room remove the lift out and make both ends a loop
  10. CortezA

    CortezA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the explaination of the spur track and runaround. I think I might lengthen the spurs. I like switching tasks. I do like jon-monon suggestion on how to modify the spur track area.

    I do not have enough room to but in the loops and remove the liftout.

    I am trying to integrate the suggestions for the liftout area.

    Keep the great ideas coming.

    Thanks,
    Cortez
  11. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think a "draw bidge" type section would work better than a lift out. Wire it so everything stops when the bridge is lifted, then leave it up for room access except when operating.
  12. Tileguy

    Tileguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw a Plan once for a swing out bridge wired to cut power as Russ suggested somewhere amongst my many magazines.I thought this to be one of the best idea's of the bunch because it worked like a gate.Anyone remember this article?
  13. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember it in Model Railroader. It seems like it as a couple of years ago, so that means it was probably 5 years ago.
  14. CortezA

    CortezA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that last month's MRR had an article on doing a swing out section. I decided to do a drop down section. I wanted to do a draw bridge but I could not find hinges that would work. When, and if, I find them, I will convert the bridge to a draw bridge.

    Here are some pictures of what I did.

    Thanks,
    Cortez

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  15. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any hinge will work for a draw bridge as long as the center line of the hinge is above the top of the rails.