KATO bridge

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by stary, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. stary

    stary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the midst of assembling a WALTHERS double-track truss bridge, but the peices are so warped, I've decided to give up and get a new one. I've been looking at the KATo bridge, as I've heard good things about it. But the only problem is, the track is in it already. So, is it easy to remove? If so, how do I do it? If not, then how would I join it to Code 80 flex-track, in N scale?
  2. cpr_paul

    cpr_paul Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a bit fiddly, but it is not that hard to take the track out. I can't remember exactly how I did it now...probably used a small chisel and craft knife. I took out the entire rail clip, so I had to build up the level of the girder slightly so my track wasn't "floating" across the bridge.
  3. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    I moved this thread from photography here because it is a tech. question.
    Now, about your problem, why not just remove the rail and insert you own rail removing the amount of ties which are on the bridge.

    Shamus
    [​IMG]
  4. fifer

    fifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Kato Bridge is cd80 and all you need to do is measure where the bridge will go and cut out the flex and put the bridge in and side the joiners on.
    Go to the Progress on the ACT RR in the N and Z Scale section . There are several pictures of my Kato Bridge there connected to Peco cd 55.
    ;) ;) :thumb:
  5. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    That bridge always makes my cars fall off the track!:curse: