Kadee couplers on Athearn SD40-2's?

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Seaboard, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. Seaboard

    Seaboard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I have a pair of Athearn SD40-2s that have the removable coupler boxes and I was wondering if there was a way or is it possible to put Kadee coupler boxes were the athearn ones go.
    any suggestions or ideas will be appreciated.

    Sean
  2. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Our club just ordered two Athearn SD40's last September. I replaced the stock couplers with Kadee #5's without changing the coupler pockets. After re-reading your post, maybe you have an older version with different coupler's. Kadee has a website that I believe lists which couplers go with most of the major manufacturers loco's.
  3. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Athearn's SD40-2s have several different vintages...

    Mine are the old Blue-Box SD40-2s with the coupler mounting tab positioned too low, and they required underset #47 Kadee couplers. I had to drill #50 holes on the coupler-mounting tabs and tap them for 2-56 screws to mount the Kadee #47s.

    If you have a newer-vintage Athearn SD40-2, it might have the coupler mount at the right height to take a standard #5 Kadee.
  4. Seaboard

    Seaboard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    They looked like they would fit, I just didn't know if they would fit in the coupler pockets before I went out and bought em. Thanks for the help :)
  5. Seaboard

    Seaboard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom, I had recently bought a new SD40-2 not to long ago, it did come in a blue box. It has the diesel engine on the front if that matters. And my other one is older but it has the same. There pretty new.
  6. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds to me like you got the ones that has the coupler mount tab at the right height. As Jim says, the Kadee #5s should work on your loco. Give it a shot. :thumb:
  7. Seaboard

    Seaboard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Tom, I'll give them a try:thumb:
  8. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two Athearn BB SD40-2's and have #5's on both of them.
  9. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    The #5s were a drop in fit in the one I just got:thumb:
  10. Seaboard

    Seaboard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got the new #5's on my Two SD40-2's and they work perfectly:thumb: