Just Getting Started... again... sort of....

Cogent

Hello Model Railroaders!

I am just getting back into model railroading after a 15 year hiatus. I'm not that old so it really hasn't been that long. But before I go on, let me tell you of my history in model railroading.

When I was a boy, my two brothers and I were bitten by the model railroad bug. I think it started when we saved up for a set and bought a N-Scale, Life-like, Railroad Empire set. Here is one that was recently auctioned on eBay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3188775412

It didn't take us long to get bored with the simple layout of the Railroad Empire set and we started searching for a layout we liked. If I have time I will scan in the layout we chose since I found a photocopy of it. I think it came from an issue of Model Railroader. Anyway, it provided us with a lot of experience, which I have since forgotten, but a lot of memories still come flooding back. Since I am still learning the vocabulary I can't really explain how it looked in words, but it was a rather simple figure eight with some spurs and sections of parallel track. The sad thing is that somewhere between then and now it found its way into a landfill. :(

The good things is that my brother just dug out our box of remaining locomotives and rolling stock (just picked up that term from reading the forums). Amazingly, the locomotives were kept in a small plastic container where they seem to have aged well. The other parts and peices were exposed to a lot of dirt and moisture so I will need to take a closer look. I will also post some pictures so you can see what I have to start with.

Basically, I have limited monetary resources at present and would like to start with something rather simple. I have a real variety of rolling stock and locomotives so it defintely won't be anything great right now, I just want to re-learn the technical stuff and have some fun too.