Is this dcc unit any good

wickman

Dec 8, 2005
Ontario canada
Hi I've been researching dcc for a few months now I was introduced to it before christmas at a train show and of course everyones is the best out there. I was told at the train show that sometimes Atlas switches will cause a problem with dcc but just the other day a guy that owns a hobby store in Michigan came into my store and we talked trains for a good 2 hrs. He showed me this system that he sells he says it is really all I need http://www.cmhobbies.com/shop/model...odels/prodigy-advance-dcc-system/p_41385.html he also says the price he sells it at is very good . Can I get some recommendations and suggestions.[:)]

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
What is it that you need? I would draw up a list of your wants and needs and see if the systems available match.

For example:

my needs -
- relatively inexpensive
- easy set-up
- easy/familiar controls

wants -
- programming that reads CV (to make sure I have done it right)
- something familiar to my RR friends (who I will undoubtedly have questions for)
- expandable later

do not need -
- capacity for signalling
- capacity for turnouts

I ended up with the Digitrax Zephyr. Most of my friends and local clubs use Digitrax. It is a small box, perfect for operating my modules at home when they are not at the club. I have all manual turnouts. It looks and operates (more or less) like an old-style powerpack. I can use my old powerpack as an additional throttle (jump throttle). Cost me about CAN$200 at the time I got it (few years ago).

So line up your wants and needs with the features of the Prodigy Advance and see what the result is...

Andrew

wickman

Dec 8, 2005
Ontario canada
MasonJar said:
What is it that you need? I would draw up a list of your wants and needs and see if the systems available match.

For example:

my needs -
- relatively inexpensive
- easy set-up
- easy/familiar controls

wants -