Is this considered a revers section?

Jun 18, 2004
barboursville, wv
Hello, i made an attempt at drawing my track plan to show how it is. Can someone tell me if this is considered a reverse section and if it is, where do i need to isolate it in order to hook up an MRC AD520 auto reverser. Also, how do i get power to the reverse section if im not supposed to run power from my bus line? Thanks!

Attachments

• reverse loop.JPG
    reverse loop.JPG
    28 KB · Views: 193

LongIslandTom

Apr 8, 2006
Long Island, NY
I'm still learning DCC myself, but I think you actually have TWO reverse loops on your layout (see below). I know for straight DC you will have to use two separate block controls, one for each reverse loop. Not sure if you will need more than 1 autoreverser for DCC though (or can one module handle both loops..?).

Attachments

• reverse loop1.jpg
    reverse loop1.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 192
  • reverse loop2.jpg
    reverse loop2.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 185

EngineerKyle

Oct 3, 2005
Troy MI
Dear Train Steve,

I am sorry to say you are getting questionable advice from the forum. :cry: Collyn's reply to eliminate the loop defeats the purpose of the fun of turning the train around, and I believe both Tom and Harold are well intentioned but wrong.

Your diagram does present an interesting reverse loop problem, but I think you've only got one reversing section. As Tom broke it down, it LOOKS like two reversing loops, but his second picture would not complete a circuit without the entire layout.

I think you've got one reversing loop there, and I'd wire it like this;

View attachment 31495

First, consider the entire "top" of the sketch. That track, which I've gapped at 1 is nothing more that a long passing siding, and will not, by itself reverse the direction of the train.