Is one ZW transformer enough for 2 blocks?

joeymanko

I am relatively new to Command Control. I have 2 blocks which are both 10 feet long ovals and are insulated. Could I put one of the ZW's outputs to one block, and another output block? Would this be sufficient power to run 2 trains?:cry:

It is very confusing to mewall1. I know that I could always put a powerhouse 180 to the inside block, but then why did I spend all that money on a ZW? After all, a ZW has 4 outputs!

Joey

electric130

What is a ZW? If you give us more detail, we might be able to help.
everyone knows what a ZW is. :mrgreen:

Lionel, Product Finder

6-32930_891.jpg

joeymanko

The ZW

What is a ZW? If you give us more detail, we might be able to help.

Hello Railway Bob!

Thank you for taking the time to at least anser my quest. The ZW is the big Lionel transformer. They still make it today, but it is more 21st century. It is 250 volts, and has controllers for 4 trains. It kind of looks like a football with a box in the middle of it.

It seems if I put one output to one block and another ouput to another block, there just isn't enough power. I would think that it would act as 4 transformers -- that is why I have one:confused::confused:. Maybe i'm wrong.

Thanks,

Joeymanko

Hello Joeymanko. Sorry I can't help you on this one as I'm only into DCC.

From what I have seen on some layouts with the ZW, it seems to me that it should produce enough power to power at least two trains. And it Lionel has designed it to power 4 trains, then it should do this. Usually if there's a lack of power, it may have something to do with the transformers not being able to produce the current that is required (or it may be a problem with the locos).

Another place to look is the wiring to the tracks and the connections between the tracks. Use a volt meter to test the voltage to make sure it is up to spec.

Sorry I can't help you any more than this.

Bob M.

electric130