Installing bridges

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by MasonJar, Aug 26, 2003.

  1. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be a silly question, but does anyone have any advice / guidance / photos (!) of how bridges and abutments connect - including the plywood or whatever you are using for subroadbed?

    I am having trouble imagining how all this comes together. If anyone has a picture... well, you know how much that would be worth!

    Thanks!

    Andrew
  2. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Andrew,
    I don't know if this is what you are looking for, but I always use a sort of subroadbed under my bridges wich goes direct into the plaster area.
    Shamus
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  3. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the picture Shamus!

    I am looking for more of a "plan" about how the stuff fits together, so I can answer questions like:

    - If I have a 30' bridge, should the gap be 30' (or more, or less???)

    - Does the bridge rest on the abutment (I know they do in real life, but what about modelling) or on the subroadbed?

    - How to you tie all these pieces (bridge, subroad, roadbed, track, abutment) together so the thing is structurally sound?

    - How does the cork roadbed factor into this?

    Andrew
  4. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, if your bridge is 30" then the subroadbed (Which forms the bridge) would have to be at least 33" giving you 1 and 1/2" eitherside to rest on the main frame.
    Don't use cork on a bridge, just marry up the bridge height either side.
    The bridge will rest on the abutments, which should have some sort of support underneath.

    Shamus
    [​IMG]
  5. Ray Marinaccio

    Ray Marinaccio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Masonjar
    I saw a series of articles in MR called ABC's of bridges back in 1988. I only have Aug. and Oct not sure how many others there were. They may help.
  6. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    andrew

    what kind of track are you using on first layout i hand laid track and all bridges were built on bench supports and all except track, then placed on layout then of track laid right over bridge .worked well for me dont know if anyone else has tried this.
  7. Drew1125

    Drew1125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Andrew!
    I don't know if this will help, but here's how I built a couple of bridges on my latest layout project...

    This one is called the Catt's Creek bridge.
    I built it at the workbench, using a piece of flex-track, some styrene, a couple of Atlas girders, & some H&R stone sheet...

    Attached Files:

  8. Drew1125

    Drew1125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    After everything was painted, I installed it onto the foam scenic base, cutting places in the foam to accomodate the piers, & shimming the bottom of the piers with cardboard to connect them with the scenery...

    Attached Files:

  9. Drew1125

    Drew1125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then using sculptamold, plaster, & various ground cover, I built the scenery up around the bridge...

    Attached Files:

  10. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for suggestions everyone, and thanks Charlie for the pictures... ;)

    Andrew