I'm new here so I need advice.

bryandjen107

Dec 7, 2006
Hello all,

I am new here and to the hobby. I have a renewed interset in model railroading. I have an old Lionel steam engine 2018 from about 1952 or 1954. It was my fathers. He passed it on to me when I was little. 34 years later I have a little one of my own (almost 3) and she loves trains, or choo choo's in her language. Since she had shown a major intrest in trains I pulled my old set out and had a local shop perform a good "once over" on the trains. I was shocked to find out that after about 20 years of not running the train, it was in perfect running condition and only need to be oiled and some brushed replaced. I took it home and with my old 1033 transformer, bam worked like it was 1954. What craftsmanship. I am an engineer and to think that something that old still runs like a new engine is amazing to me.

This brings me to my first question ever posted here. Now that I am very interested in modeling, what is the best way to get started. Are there any good refernce books that you all could recommed? Is O guage the way to go or is HO the way to go? I know this is a question that will come with biased answers, but I guess I am looking for information to help me decide. What are the pros and cons of the above gauges besides the spacial issues?

Thanks for allof you help and I am looking forward to getting on in my renewed hobby.

Thank,

Bryan:)

yellowlynn

Jul 7, 2001
Whitehouse, Tx USA
Visit site
I'm not real knowledgible on all of this, but I can stick in an opinion. I wouldn't consider HO until your young'un is considerable older. Space-wise, HO will not save you, as O gauge will fit in equal area. Scenery is what will eat you up on that. That is where HO would rule, but tiny hands ............ well.

Lynn

Cannonball

More Trains Than Brains
Dec 4, 2006
St. Joseph, MO