Im new, anwsers wanted

rcwatkins

Jul 4, 2003
TN
Visit site
I am planning to build a small N Scale layout of 3"by 7". I'm new to MRR'ing. What's a good starter DC Power Pack that is not overly expnsive. I have chose to use Kato Unitrack. Any suggestions?

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
I have found the MRC Tech series to be everything you could want for the price. I myself use an MRC RailPower 1300 on my test bench. It's the cheapest of the cheapies and works just fine.

rsn48

Feb 27, 2003
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Visit site
Watkins,
Perhaps one of the least understood things about dcc with newbies is the concept - "wiring is tougher with dcc." Its the exact reverse: wiring is easier with dcc, you need less of it, and you don't have to buy a bunch of selectors, controllers, etc - whatever Atlas flogs.

Here is how to wire for dcc:

1) Run two larger gauge wires down the middle of your layout (underneath) - this is called your power bus. I don't know why two wires are called "buses" but who am I to question.

2) Attach feeders from track A to power bus A under neath. Attach feeder B from track B to power bus B underneath. How often you attach feeders is the only "controversial part." About 4 MR's ago, there was an article discussing buses, and recommended feeders every three feet - its a good article - read it, and it gives it reason for the recommendation.

3) Reversing loops - easier with dcc. Get an auto reverser - wire per instructions, make sure the reversing loop is completely isolated, from the mainline feeding track. By this I mean, use insulated joiners, or whatever on both track just before the reversing loop.

I guarantee you, these wiring instructions are much easier than block wiring.

rcwatkins

Jul 4, 2003
TN
Visit site