Ideas for a simple Swicthing track plan

Some may have read posts of requests for info on Colorado at the beginning of the year.
My ultimate goal is to create a freelance rail company in Colorado in a modular setup. i was basing my ideas and track plan on the Colorado Midland.

well that is stil my goal, but that is the distant future now. I'm incredibly busy with my study and don't have the time to spend on something complex and big. Also I'm new to model railroading and have never operated a layout.

So what I would like to do is start out simple and build a small model with a mainline and may switching opportunities, so lots of industries etc. the size I'm looking at is probably like the shelf layouts some of you guys build.
About a 1ft wide by5 or 6ft (I'm used to using metris, so i hoep that is correct).

I'm modeling in N scale and would like to stick to the same era I will later on model on my modular layout. the era is early 1900's.

I saw the perfect track plan on here some time back, but didn't take note of it.

Can anyone help me, by providing track plans that fit my criteria and that would help me experience switching and all that type of stuff. I currently own a 0-6-0 engine from Life like, I bought myself a kit to get myself started. I also have a Jupiter on layby at the moment - I just love the paint job, okay so its not the right rail company I had thought of, but thats partly why i chose to go Private company after realising Sante fe couldn't fufill all my dreams.

I only have 3 wagons and 1 caboose at the moment, but I'm slowly building up my rolling stock as money allows.

So what help you guys could give me, would set me off on the right track. No pun intended.

Cheers

Jason Lennie

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Hi Jason,

In addition to the link from SAL, you can find inspiration for other small layots here:

http://www.naisp.net/users/mfischer/m_train2.htm

and