Ideas for a layout (Im a beginner)...

Troy

Sep 27, 2003
Australia
Visit site
Hi,

I have just started model railroading and I have a 4'6" x 8' bench to build a layout. Ive decided to build an N Scale layout so I can fit a fair bit of action on there and also use the Woodland Scenic Subterrain to build upon, Wscenic Trackbed and Peco Track. I would like to have a big mountain in the middle of the layout and mountain ranges around the sides and back of the layout. I would also like to try building a creek somewhere on the layout. And have a station at the bottom middle of the layout with a small yard and repair area behind it.

Anyone have any ideas on a plan that would suit that terrain with passenger and freight working together. I would like to have the passenger train running all the time on a nice scenic route up into the mountains and back and stopping at the station via a station stopper while the freight trains shift coal up and down the mountain in the middle and stopping up in the mountain for pickups via another station stopper. Id rather not have any point to point in the design but a bit of switching would be nice if I wanted to send the passenger train on a different route every now and again. A couple of tunnels here and there would be good too.

As a beginner Im not to sure on what will work. Ive spent countless hours browsing over a heap of Kalmbach books and plans from books but none of them suit my needs. Its all so confusing for a beginner I can tell you. And my big ambitions are not helping me! Im probably jumping in a bit deep with my ideas but im not scared :D
I would like to find a club in my area so I can meet some people like yourselfs and see how this stuff is done first hand but there isnt any in my area that Im aware of...
If anyone from my location (Gold Coast, Australia) knows of a local club, some info would be great.

Anyway, I hope Im not out of line asking these questions on my first post. Apologies if I am...