How Wide?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by NewTrain, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am putting a layout in my tree house. It will for around the perimiter. What is the minimunm width that i can make the platform and not be worried about the train falling the 3 1/2 ft to the ground? I also plan to use a Kato Engine with a Digitraz Zephyr DCC system is this a good idea?
  2. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry dude i totaly spaced HO I could go with N but HO is what i realy like
  3. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    :wave: :wave: :wave: Welcome to the-gauge NT! :wave: :wave: :wave:

    HO doesn't usually go more than 6" off course. N I guess would do about half that. If you have room, maybe go with a standard 12" shelf, that way you can have sidings and still remain 6" away from the death ledge. In areas, you might want to run the track closer to the drop off, and you could model a fenc eto keep it in. You planning a plain loop or some turnouts, sidings, industries, etc?

    DCC? I would save your money and go with a straight DC system if it's just one loco.
  4. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks that was what width i was planning. Does anyoine make a netting system to catch locomotives. And i was planning on running two engines and a 5' by 6' switching yard.
  5. sumpter250

    sumpter250 multiscale modelbuilder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    For netting, you could look around at garage sales for an old volley ball net, or badminton net. 12" wide strips strategicly placed would offer the protection you need.
    The Zephyr system is probably the most user friendly of the Digitrax products, and all you'd need for the layout you're planning. Kato is a good choice, and you should be able to find a plug-and-play decoder for it.
    Pete
  6. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for all you rhelp this is the worlds coolest forum! And would mosquito netting work or is it too flimsy?
  7. Fred_M

    Fred_M Guest

    How about plexiglass shield about 1 inch high for a "guard rail". Skeeter netting should work too. My front track is 5 inches from the edge and in 5 years I have only lost 1 caboose off the edge of the world. Welcome to the gauge. FRED
  8. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you work the scenery right, you could put strips of scenery at the side so that they're higher than the track, with a bit of slope up to them, but a small flat area just beside the tracks. Vary it, and have some plain plexiglass as well.
    Let us know what area you're in, and we might be able to direct you to some local events.
  9. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i live in Or. Eugene area
  10. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the Gauge NT. It would help to know the size of you tree house.
  11. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good point its an Octagon with 5.5ft sides and a 3 ft diamater tree in the middle.
    heres a drawing of my planned layout(not to scale)may not be very clear depends on scanner
    :thumb:
  12. Lighthorseman

    Lighthorseman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to The Gauge, NewTrain!

    What a sublimely cool idea, having a layout in your treehouse! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
  13. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thnks i dont know why the pic didn't work but that description is the best i can do sorry
  14. Fred_M

    Fred_M Guest

    Hi, try sizing it and loading it to this site. FRED
  15. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant compress it enough to work i will jsut put t on a disc then post it on my school site then link it
  16. Fred_M

    Fred_M Guest

    Up in vB code there's a buttom marked IMG. Punch it and fill out the URL. I'd do it for you but you deleted the address...FRED
  17. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    that was a different pic(the i'm with stupid one) i will post my drawing tomorrow
  18. NewTrain

    NewTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0