How to wire the transformer?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by WarrenW, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. WarrenW

    WarrenW New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to be missing the piece of track that I wire my transformer to. Can someone tell me if I can wire the leads from my transformer to a regular piece of track? And if so, which ones? I have a Lionel O-27 gauge set that I got a few years ago.

    Thanks!

    Warren
  2. Joepomp

    Joepomp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Solder?

    I don't use O gauge, but I assume it like HO. Just solder the wire to the side of the approprate rails. :rolleyes:
  3. baldwinjl

    baldwinjl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    But with three rail you need to choose the right two, I think. From his other post I think he got it figured out.

    Jeff
  4. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a little device called a "lockon" that locks onto the track (took me years to understand that) and has terminals to connect the 2 wires for the transformer. It clips onto one outside and the inside rail.
  5. baldwinjl

    baldwinjl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I remember my Lionel, it picked up between either outer rail and the middle rail. It couldn't matter which outer, cause you could put it either way on the track.

    Jeff
  6. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most 3-rail track is made so that the 2 outside rails are electrically joined by the ties.
    If you don't have the lockon, you could solder wires on. Just don't get solder on the top of the rail or where the wheels go. Soldering is a pain because of the size of the rails.