how to slow down an electric pulley ?

fran1942

Hello, I am a real newbie when it comes to electrical mechanics etc, so I be really happy for some help.
I have a Tamiya electric pulley unit set up to form an aerial tramway.
The trouble is that when I connect a battery to the electric motor, it runs too fast. The RPM of the motor is too much for a realistic tramway.
I am using the smallest battery that will power the motor. It is a 1.5volt battery.
I know gearing would normally be the answer, but there is not room for additional gears on the Tamiya kit and it is all custom built. I have my small pulley wheels driving the large pulley wheel, but the speed is just too fast.
Can I buy some sort of power regulator to slow down the electric motor ?
If I bought a smaller electric motor would that have lower RPM ?

Any ideas would be most welcome.
Thank you.

You can do a couple of things, however i am no expert so do your homework first. You can get a potentiometer (pot) which would be a current control/speed control (imagine a volume knob on a stereo). Or you could make a small circuit board with resistors to give one speed. Im sure others will have better ideas, but its a place to start!

Cory

ezdays

Out AZ way
Boy, you're getting way down there on voltage at 1.5 volts, but if that's too much, you might get by with adding a resistor in series with the supply voltage. What size? That's going to depend on how much current the motor takes running a full speed. If you have any resistors available, you might try a small value first, like maybe 50 ohms, and go up in value until you get the right speed. What that does is lower the voltage to the motor and it should lower the speed.

If you had any specs on the motor, then we could be more precise in the resistor value range. See if there isn't any voltage and current data stamped on the motor or instruction sheet.

fran1942

thanks very much for that. It seems a ceramic resistor will do the trick.