How Critical Is Sub-Roadbed?

Lighthorseman

Jul 24, 2002
Out in the sticks
Visit site
Here's one of those questions that gives away the fact that I'm a newbie. The question relates to the modular layout I'm building. Is the only advantage of the Homasote-type (or cork, for that matter) sub roadbed to dampen noise? If so, is there really much need for this stuff on a layout that will be run in a noisy train-show environment?

Essentially, would it be okay to attach the code 100 Peco On30 flextrack right to the plywood trackbase? I'd hate to have to tear everything up later on because I did not ask and listen to sage advice.

I posted this question elsewhere, so I appologize for the duplicate threads on different fora. :p

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site
The other advantage of cork or homasote is to serve as roadbed (not subroadbed) If you want your track at ground level, not elevated, then there is no reason to use roadbed. Just to clarify, subroadbed is your plywood, foam, pine or what have you. It serves as a sturdy (hopefully!) base for the track. Roadbed is cork, homasote, etc, and provides the raised above ground level look so typical. But not so typical for narrow gauge I guess. Sound issues aside, roadbed is a cosmetic decision.

Gary

Lighthorseman

Jul 24, 2002
Out in the sticks
Visit site
Aha!

Gary H Pfeil said:
... Just to clarify, subroadbed is your plywood, foam, pine or what have you...

Gary

Oops! Well, you've helped me in two areas, Gary. Many thanks! I wasn't sure if the roadbed (see? learning already! :thumb: ) served another important function.

Since I love the clickety-clack sound anyway, and I'm modelling narrow gauge where there really is no elevated roadbed, I guess I'll put the track right on the plywood. Perhaps I'll just tack it down and run trains first in order to see if there is a noise problem. If not... :)

Thanks!

SAL Comet

May 13, 2004
N.W. Georgia