HO Hand Rails

Stevee617

Mar 28, 2006
Hi All,

I am new to the hobby and I dug out my old AHM "Spirit of '76" EMD GP-18 Locomotive. Well, when I got this(when I was 5 years old) I did what every typical 5 year old does with new toys and completely tore the handrails off of it.

Well, now I am 34 and I would like to restore this old locomotive, which runs great by the way, to it glory. Looking at the local hobby shop, I've notived the new locomotive are more to scale that what they were in the past.

How do I go about restoring the handrails on this project??

Thanks.

Steve E

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
There is a detail manufacturer who's name escapes me right now, that makes stanchions for both older EMD "pipe style" and later EMD. I think the gp18 would have the late style stanchions. Get a picture of a gp18 to see where the stanchions go, how many long, how many short, etc. Then get some piano wire (probably .015" if I remember right) and bend up your handrails and put them on the stanchions. Install the stanchion/handrail assemblies on the locomotive.

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
Welcome to The Gauge, Steve.

My first effort would be to look up any AHM GP18 body shell on Ebay. They usually can be gotten for about $5. Then I would carefully strip them off, reapply them to the other shell and paint them to match. Scratchbuilding a set is tedious enough for someone whose done it before, unless you're interested in this degree of modeling.

Ray Marinaccio

Aug 4, 2003
Dewey Az.
Visit site
Smokey Valley may be the manufacturer Russ is thinking of.
I have used the old Kemtron posts (kind of hard ti find now) and Athearn posts and >015" brass or steel wire as Russ mentioned to form the railings.
Here's an AHM GP18 with railings I made and a Model Power RS11 that I am working on.

Attachments

• COGP9AHM.jpg
    COGP9AHM.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 192
  • Mar19$12.JPG
    Mar19$12.JPG
    42.3 KB · Views: 190

Don

Jan 14, 2005