Hiawatha Won't Run

fruitcop

Jan 12, 2003
Pacific Northwest
Visit site
Help! I picked up a new/old MTH Hiawatha at an estate sale. It ran a time or two, then acted like it had a loose connection. By wiggling the cord between the tender and engine, it could be put back into motion. Then it just wouldn't help and refused to run. It isn't a protosoound model. The whistle won't operate now but the lights come on. Current applied directly to the electric motor gets a reaction.

I suspect the small PCB which the black cord plugs into. Just what is this used for? Is this a good guess? I don't know of anyone in the far North West Washington area that does repairs. I'd like to be able to repair it myself, but don't know if just blindly replacing parts will help. Any comments appreciated. Yes, I am very new to trains and this is the first that I've tried to run.
Thanks
Robert:confused:

Clerk

Nov 6, 2002
Esparto, California
Visit site
Robert. I don't know where in NW Washington you are but there used to be a small shop in Ferndale that did repairs on engines. It is owned and operated by one old man and the one time I stopped in about 4 years ago, he was very polite. I bought a $98.00 engine from him.

Pitchwife

Dreamer
Apr 23, 2001
The middle of nowhere Oregon
Visit site
If you were a little closer