Help With Walthers Steel Mill

csiguy

Jun 4, 2007
leechburg,pa.
Hi All

About Two Years Ago I Bought The Walthers Blast Furnace In Ho Scale. After Looking At It For Several Months I Think Im Gonna Finally Try And Build It. It Looks Very Challenging And Since I Am Very New To The Hobby I Was Wondering If Anyone Has Built This Kit Before And Do You Have Any Suggestions. Im Modeling The Stell Industry And This Is My First Layout. So Ill Take All The Help I Can. Thanks Very Much For The Help.

Todd

TruckLover

Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer
Apr 14, 2006
Rancho Santa Margarita, Cali.
My suggestion, do not capitalize each word. Thats reserved for titles.

Now on topic, Josh (Trucklover) built an N scale one, I'm sure he can be of assistance.

Yup, If I member corrcet, Mine took me about 33 hours or so to complete. I did mine in N scale and boy this was the biggest and most complex structure that I have ever and it was the N scale one, the HO one should be just about the same if not a lil easyer as the parts and pieces are about twice as big as N scale. The N scale Blast Furnace is bigger then any of the buildings that I have in HO scale just to give you an idea of just how MASSIVE this structure will be in HO scale.

Also, PAINT AS YOU GO, you will thank me and yourself for doing this. It is much EASYER to paint the parts as you go rather then paint the whole thing when your done. I am so glad that I painted as I built, makes the building process a bit slower but makes it 100 times easyer in the long run and well worth the extra time. Painting as you go also gives the parts that were previously assembled a lil more drying time to set better.