Help with new layout

ript73

Aug 9, 2005
Hello all. I had posted this pic as a reply to one of my posts in the HO scale forum before seeing that I should've posted it here instead.

I'm a complete newbie to model railroads and after doing some searching and reading on these forums, I see alot of awesome designs and layouts that have really piqued(sp?) my interest.

I'm mostly interested in the scenery/layout, but in the end I'd like a functional and realistic layout that a train can actually run on. I'd like to have 2 trains running on the track as well.

Below is the post to the layout I have to work with and this is where I could use some suggestions/ideas on how to lay it all out. Inclines and bridges would be nice to have and I also have coming a realistic water scene from woodlandscenics.com so having a river or something in the layout could be a possibility. I'm looking at the modern era, maybe 80's-90's style. I've got some farm sceneries coming as well.

Thanks!
http://www.the-gauge.com/showthread.php?p=157411#post157411

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
Are there any doors or windows in the space to deal with? I would suggest going around the walls. The alcove is probably not very usefull, it appears to be only 3 feet wide, which is about adequate for an aisle.

ript73

Aug 9, 2005
There are no doors or windows. This isn't an entire room, just a section of the basement that I can utilize the entire space I have pictured for the base of the model. The L wraps around the wall.

Thanks!

KCS

Nov 23, 2004
Shreveport, LA.