Help with customizing old O27 track

LionelDad

May 1, 2009
Cincinnati, Ohio
Okay, so I just spent two months building an "around the wall" train shelf for my two extremely patient 3-4 year old boys. It's a foot from the ceiling, goes through both of their rooms, and tunnels through the wall for a 70 foot total run. I just finished laying down 1/8" cork on the shelf tops and now it's time to customize the track sections. I've never done this before so here are my questions: 1) How do I cut old O27 track to fit my layout? 2) How do I solve the problem of s-turns that end up being "pin-to-pin" (I have this problem a few spots with 2 switches). Is there a way to remove pins or stick them on the opposite side of the track section? 3) How to I condition old dirty track sections for optimal elecrical connectivity? 4) What's the best way to wire such a long run? Will one connection cover the whole run? Thanks for any helpful tips you can provide. -Dave

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Hi and welcome.
I haven't worked with O27 for about 50 years, so ...
The pins should be removable with pliers. And maybe a vise. I used to use a screwdriver to open up the bottom of the rail and then needle nose pliers to tighten it up again. Lionel used to make a "track tool" that did the job and also had a hole to match the round bit of the rail. I never liked modifying expensive bits like switches!
You can cut track by putting it in a vise and using a hacksaw. Lionel sells extra pins.
Be careful with remote control switches -- some of these need an insulating pin in one rail for the non-derailing feature (the 2 short rails at the dividing end) and leaving it out will cause problems; please read the instructions.