Help! Wiring a Double cross for DCC use

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by rsazz, Nov 22, 2007.

1. rsazz

rsazz New Member

I am new at this and created a layout. I am going to use a DCC set up with the layout because I want to run 2 trains together.

I am ready to wiring the layout and wonder if I need to do something to insulate the inner loop from the outer loop (in the case when there is a train running on each loop) ?? If so, how do I do that?

THe turnout is a Shinohara #6.

Also, any pros and cons about using a Bachmann EZ command DCC unit? I just want it to run the trains, the turn outs will have switches.

Thanks, Rick

Attached Files:

2. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

Rick: the whole point of DCC is that you don't have to do anything special to run 2 trains.
    The crossover probably needs even less wiring than with DC, although you might need controlled wiring on the frogs. (If they're live. If they're plastic, you don't).
  3. Nomad

Nomad Active Member

Rick, I started out with the EZ Command and consider it a good unit. They also have an add on cab so two people can operate. The only reason I changed to NCE, was I got a deal I could not refuse, otherwise I would still be using it.

Loren
  4. steamhead

steamhead Active Member

Hi..I presume that double-crossover is a commercial unit. If so, it's probably pre-wired for "plug & play" use. You can check it out with a multimeter to see if there are possible shorts depending on the position of the points. You should also wire the switch machines so they operate as a single unit to avoid running trains into closed points. Good luck..!!
  5. rsazz

rsazz New Member

Thanks, guys...

It looks like I have plastic in the frogs, I attached a couple of pictures. So I assume I do not have to do anything special wiring? other than supply power to each loop.

Nomad,
    Can switch be programed with the Bachmann EZ command unit?

Thanks for the help everyone,
    Rick

Attached Files:

• dc1.JPG
      dc1.JPG