"Help" scatch build Trestle

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by UPJunkie, Feb 17, 2004.

1. UPJunkie

UPJunkie Member

I am going to be doing a scratch build Trestle. this is my first time ever doing this so bare with me :) I need to know how to curve the trestle frame. I have printed off a pic of one but im not sure how they did it. I will have 2 tracks going underneath one side. any help will be a big help on this.

I don't have a digital camera to show you what i need to be done so i hope my spelling and what i put helps

CHEERS:thumb:
  2. BillD53A

BillD53A Member

A trestle is a pretty complex subject, but it is just an assembly made up of pretty simple parts. Your best bet is to buy a kit...check the ads in Model Railroader, Railroad Model Craftsman, or one of the other magazines. Check a Walthers catalogue. Its a good idea to buy one every few years, but I wouldnt buy it every year.
    A trestle is composed of vertical supports called bents. The bents are tied together with longitudinal braces and diagonal sway braces. All the bents are the same, from the top down. If there is a difference in height, it is made by cutting the bottom of the bents off. The legs are shortened from the bottom...the tops stay the same.
    You need a drawing of the bent assembly...tack it down to a flat board, with waxed paper over it, and build the bent by pinning the stripwood top the drawing.
    Once you have enough bents made you can trim the bottoms to length.
    Erect the bents, using the longitudinal bracing to keep the bents upright and then apply the sway braces.
    Trestles are not curved. They are a series of short, straight sections. The bents are arranged at an angle to each other, like spokes on a wagon wheel. The longitudinal supports on the inside of the trestle are shorter than the ones on the outside.
    For HO scale I would place the bents about 2" apart. HTH Bill
  3. ppowell

ppowell New Member